The Oresteian Trilogy by Aeschylus (Used)


The Oresteian Trilogy by Aeschylus (Used)

This product is out-of-stock. You may send us an inquiry about it.

Contact Us ← or Continue Shopping

The Oresteian Trilogy by Aeschylus (Used)

The Oresteian Trilogy Written 458 B.C.E
Agamemnon; The Choephori; The Eumenides
The Oresteia is a trilogy of Greek tragedies written by Aeschylus concerning the end of the curse on the House of Atreus and the pacification of the Erinyes. The name derives from the character Orestes, who sets out to avenge his father's murder. The only extant example of an ancient Greek theater trilogy, the Oresteia won first prize at the Dionysia festival in 458 BC. When originally performed, it was accompanied by Proteus, a satyr play that would have followed the trilogy. Proteus has not survived, however. In all likelihood the term "Oresteia" originally referred to all four plays; today it generally designates only the surviving trilogy. Many consider the Oresteia to be Aeschylus' finest work. Principal themes of the trilogy include the contrast between revenge and justice, as well as the transition from personal vendetta to organized litigation.

Paperback, 207 pp

Note: This is a used copy. The cover art will not match the stock photo. This is the mass market paperback Penguin Classics edition. It is in good condition and unmarked other than a  previous owner's name on the first page. Cover shows some wear.

Recently Viewed
Hey! Search for products here